New leader elected for B&NES Conservative Group

Cllr Vic Pritchard was last night unanimously elected Leader of the B&NES Conservative Group.

It follows the resignation last month of Cllr Paul Myers, who held the position for the past two years.

At last night’s extraordinary meeting, Cllr Pritchard received the Group’s full support, with members unanimously voting in favour of his nomination for Leader.

Cllr Pritchard is ward member for the Chew Valley and has been a councillor for the past 34 years.

When the Conservative Group was last in control of B&NES Council, Cllr Pritchard served as Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, and he currently chairs the Council’s Children, Adults, Health and Wellbeing Policy Development and Scrutiny Panel.

Cllr Pritchard said: “It’s a great honour to be named Leader of the B&NES Conservative Group and I thank my colleagues for giving me their full support.

“So far this year we have successfully forced the Liberal Democrat Administration to rethink a number of their policies – namely, to charge people to recycle rubbish at the tip, to completely restrict access to Bath city centre, and to introduce controversial Active Travel schemes on which proper public consultation had not taken place.

“Under my leadership we will continue to be a strong Opposition, holding the Administration to account and ensuring the pursuit of their policies does not come at the expense of residents and businesses in Bath and North East Somerset.”

As well as naming the new Leader, the Conservative Group last night elected a new Deputy Leader, with Cllr Karen Warrington, also ward member for the Chew Valley, receiving the full support of the Group.

She said: “I am delighted to have been entrusted with supporting the Leader in the deputy leadership role.

“Residents and businesses in B&NES need a strong Opposition on the Council, and we will continue to speak up for people who stand to be hit hard by Liberal Democrat policies that have not properly been thought through.”

Cllr Warrington has served on the Council for the past six years and has previously held the post of Cabinet Member for Transformation. She currently sits on the Council’s Corporate Policy Development Scrutiny Panel and Employee Committee Panel.